GPG210: Blog 6- A Really Dead Week!

Week 6 is about to pass, and we have nothing to show for it and we are behind on what we set on Trello! (End my Life). Our game looks the same as before with the exception of some assets being moved around. The TDD has not been completed yet, which according to our professor, should have been done in Week 3 (Might be a little behind). Trying to implement path finding for me is a legit method of torture, as it doesn’t seem to work the way i want it to. Not everything is bad however,as the animators seem to be making good progress with their assets and we have enlisted the aid of another Game Programmer, (Now Game Designer) Leon Fernandes.

I only tweaked a few aspects of the code, adjusting the camera controller as well as the character controller slightly. I also started watching tutorials on how to properly implement Dijkstra Algorithm in pathfinding, which turned to be completely fruitless as everyone else seems to be saying, even in the videos that A* Algorithm is better, which is not what I want. My other programming member is attending consultation hours with the professor since he missed the class regarding data structures. I hope he understands it and is not having to much of a hard time. This will be the last few days that I will try and implement pathfinding for the AI, I have already wasted too much time on it already and if I can’t implement it correctly, I will just scrap it entirely and work on something else for the game.Nani1.JPG

For the monster, I created a simple cube and set up waypoints around the map which the monster will follow according to which is the closest one.

This week, for me at least, was by far the most slowest and painfully empty in terms of work I contributed, I really hope that this does not happen again as I do not want to hinder the team.

4 thoughts on “GPG210: Blog 6- A Really Dead Week!

  1. Working as a freelɑnce paralegal has factors in its favor, and comⲣonents whihh are deѕtructive to some
    peоρle. If a wɑy of adventure and pleasure iin your w᧐rk liufe iss what would suit you the most effective,
    freelancing may very well bе a terrific option for you!

    Like

  2. Fantastic site you have here but I was wondering if you knew
    of any message boards that cover the same topics discussed in this article?

    I’d really like to be a part of online community where I can get
    feed-back from other experienced individuals that share the same interest.
    If you have any suggestions, please let me know. Kudos!

    Like

Leave a comment