GPG210: Blog 7- My Second Priority as well as Decent Progress

It is now week 7 and it had just hit me that we have made it to the halfway point before the project is due. Although we are a bit behind the schedule that we had set on Trello, we make sure that we make progress. Unfortunately, I had completely scrapped the idea of pathfinding being in the game as I could not find a proper way to implement it. So instead of dwelling on it, I moved on and started researching about the other things that we would need in the game. We have made a simple UI for the player that consists of the number of relics the player currently has as well as the main menu button that will take the player to the Main Menu Scene.

We had decided on the features that the player must have in the game and that was that he should have his head bob every time he moves, a stamina bar so that he is not able to sprint infinitely (Too easy to escape the monster) and the pickup system where the player will be able to pickup certain objects and only use said certain objects (this includes the throwing rocks as well as the relics). I have also started on the side project that I am supposed to do that includes AI behavior tree. Since Khatim, my group member is currently doing the behavior tree for our game, I must show how I understand the behavior tree by doing it in a separate side project. This is very important as I will be graded in the end based on how I made it and explain it.

The animators seem to be going at a really good pace as they are sending assets to us left and right. Although we have yet to implement them in the game, as there are still problems such as some models of the assets not appearing the way they are supposed to.

This week I felt that there was at least some progress made and by next week, I will also try to start attending the extra consultation hours that my other fellow programmer attends to see if there is something that I can learn as well.

 

Leave a comment